TOBY Categories

BOMA Philadelphia hosts a local annual awards competition to recognize excellence in the commercial building management industry. The Outstanding Building Of The Year (TOBY) competition is held in conjunction with BOMA International. Winners at the local level advance to the regional competition at the BOMA Mid-Atlantic Conference and may advance to the international competition at the BOMA International Conference.

The prestigious TOBY Award is bestowed as the highest mark of excellence for building management and is the most all-inclusive program in the commercial real estate industry. All facets of a building's operations are thoroughly evaluated during the judging process by a panel comprised of industry professionals, including architects and commercial building managers.

The 16 award categories include:

  • Historical Building
  • Corporate Facility
  • Industrial Building
  • Renovated Building
  • Mixed-Use
  • Medical Office Building
  • Suburban Office Park - Mid-Rise
  • Suburban Office Park - Low-Rise
  • Retail
  • Public Assembly
  • Earth
  • Under 100,000 sq. ft.
  • Between 100,000 and 249,999 sq. ft.
  • Between 250,000 and 499,999 sq. ft.
  • Between 500,000 and 1,000,000 sq. ft.
  • More than 1,000,000 sq. ft.